Ocean City Chamber installs new president

New Chamber of Commerce President Billy McMahon, left, and his wife, Anita, are joined by Chamber Chief Executive Michele Gillian and Mayor Jay Gillian at the installation dinner at the Flanders Hotel .


William “Billy” McMahon III was sworn in as the new president of the Ocean City Regional Chamber of Commerce at an installation dinner for executives and the board Thursday night at the Flanders Hotel.

McMahon, of McMahon Insurance Agency, will fill the post previously held by David Allegretto, of Fortress Financial, who served as the longest continuous speaker in the House’s history. He served from 2018 to 2022.

“Dave is one of the nicest guys,” McMahon said after being sworn in by Mayor Jay Gillian. “He helped run the House for four years.”

Some of those times have been difficult, including the COVID-19 pandemic.

The officers gather for a photo before dinner.

McMahon spoke about his family. He and his wife, Anita, have four daughters. He also talked about how his extended family comes to visit them for vacations at “McMahon Camp” because they love the resort, just like him, his wife and children.

That’s one of the reasons he said he looked forward to working with the community as Speaker of the House. He wants to grow the business community and continue Allegretto’s hard work.

He thanked Michele Gillian, Chief Executive of the Chamber of Commerce, for all she does to work with business leaders.

“It’s an honor to work with Michele and her team in the Chamber,” McMahon said.

Former House Speaker Dave Allegretto receives a trophy of appreciation from Michele Gillian to honor his four years of service.

Prior to McMahon’s swearing-in, Michele Gillian said a few words about her excitement about working with McMahon, but also about Allegretto’s importance to the Chamber and the community.

“Dave really helped us out,” Gillian said of the tough times for business at the height of the pandemic. “I can’t thank him enough.”

The mayor also thanked Allegretto for his dedication.

“It really is an amazing place, and it’s partly because of your leadership,” said Mayor Gillian. “I also know that Billy will do a good job.”

Attendees enjoy conversation during the event.

Allegretto explained how much he enjoyed his time as president.

“I really got to know more people in town. I want to thank the mayor and the administration for their partnership during my tenure and I want to thank the staff of the Chamber,” said Allegretto. “And Michele, she does so much for our business community. She fights for us in Trenton. His love for Ocean City is unparalleled.

Prior to the swearing-in ceremonies, Michele Gillian spoke of the dedication of House officers.

“The Ocean City Board of Directors is a very active board and key to the success of the business community,” she said, adding that leadership enthusiasm over the years has been key.

Mayor Jay Gillian swears in Billy McMahon as the new Speaker of the House.

A list of officers is as follows:

1st vice-president

Janet Galante – 13th Street Bathhouse & Bikes / Piccini’s

2nd Vice Presidents

Robert H. Adams – Tidelines Management Services, Inc.

Thomas Aromando – Fitzpatrick, Bongiovani and Kelly

Brian Broadley – Broadley Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

Cricket Frank–Magton, Inc.

Carol Heenan – Garden Condition Assessment

Gary Jessel – Fox Real Estate

Scott Halliday – Halliday-Leonard Entrepreneurs

Patrick McMahon – McMahon Insurance Agency

Mark Reimet – Ocean City Financial Group

Ken Sedberry – Berger Realty


John (Jake) Birch – Merrill Lynch


Michael Lloyd – Solid Savings Bank

Past President

David Allegretto – Fortress Financial

Business area directors

One year term:

Dean Adams – Dean Adams Custom Builder

Robert H. Adams – Tidelines Management Services, Inc.

Dave Allegretto – Fortress Financial

Tom Aromando – Fitzpatrick, Bongiovanni & Kelly, CPA

Jon Batastini – Loveland, Garrett & Batastini

Tara Becker – McMahon Insurance Agency

John (Jake) Birch – Merrill Lynch

Brian Broadley – Broadley’s MDI

Carmine Cantwell – Liberty Flooring, Inc.

Brandie Cesari – Cesari Immobilier

Kevin Corcoran – Wet N Wild Waverunner Rental

Jane Davis – Johnny B. Goode Ice Cream Parlor

Mike DeVlieger – OCNJDaily.com

Michael Dukeman – Hobby Horse Ice Cream Parlor

Andrew Fasy – OCNJDaily.com

Cricket Frank–Magton, Inc.

Becky Friedel – 7th Street Surf Shop

Janet Galante – 13th Street Bathhouse and Bikes

Kim Styer Gallagher – Coastal Marine Stacking

Beverley Gill – Island Beach Gear

Patrick Gill – Tackle Direct

Chris Halliday – Halliday Architects

Scott Halliday – Halliday–Leonard Entrepreneurs

Carol Heenan – Garden Condition Assessment

Thomas Heist – Theft Insurance Agency

Jim Hennessy – Heritage Surf Shop

Walt Hohman – Ward’s Patisserie

Gary Jessel – Fox Real Estate

Michael Lloyd – Solid Savings Bank

Peter Madden – Goldcoast Sotheby’s

Nick Marotta – Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Fox & Roach Estate Agents

Mary McGuckin – Shore Medical Center

Patrick McMahon – McMahon Insurance Agency

William McMahon III – McMahon Insurance Agency

Winnie Piriano – The Road to Living Well

Ryan Award – Construction Brothers Award

Eric Reich – Reich Asset Management

Mark Reimet – Ocean City Financial Group

Aimee Schultz – JASM Consulting

Ken Sedberry – Berger Realty

Avery Teitler – Teitler Law & Teitler

Don Tomlinson – Gleeson Audio Video

Ronnie Town – Electric Atlantic City

Gloria Votta – RE/MAX sur la Rive

Joan Williamson – Ocean City Coffee Company

Tony Wilson – Wilson Plumbing and Heating

Organization representatives

One year term:

Mike Allegretto – Town of Ocean City

Dr. Thomas Baruffi – Ocean City Board of Education

Karen Bergman – Ocean City Tourism Commission

Anthony Conte – Ocean City Exchange Club

John Davidson – Somers Point Business Association

Danielle Guerriero – Downtown Merchants Association

E. Marie Hayes – CMC Freeholders

Cynda Hollenbaugh – Ocean City Council of Realtors

Wes Kazmarck – Promenade Merchants

John Loeper – Ocean City Historical Museum

Karen Mahar – Ocean City Free Public Library

Bill McGinnity – Ocean City Restaurant Association

Caitlin Quirk – Downtown Merchants Association

Pastor Jay Reimer – Ocean City Tabernacle

Wendy Seymour – Ocean City Hotel Association


Nancy Aiken – Ocean City Hotel Association

Leonard Desiderio – CMC Freeholders

Bill Westerman – Boardwalk Merchants

Comments are closed.